The Largest selection of Horsepulling results on the Internet

Click to visit our sponsor, My Hope Auction
HomeLoginResultsScheduleOur GoalSponsorsContact UsVideosPhotosPuller ProfileLook'n BackLinksThe ScoopMessage Boards

New champion crowned at Street Fair horse pull



NEW CHAMPIONS — Jeff Dubois made a winning debut appearance at the Bluffton Horse Pull on Saturday, when his team of Tony and Dick were the only team to successfully pull 10,000 pounds of blocks the full 27 and a half feet. Pictured at the awards presentation are All Pearson (Horse Pull Judge), Jeff Dubois (Team owner), Jessica Ellenberger (Special Category Judge) Scott Humbert (Team Driver), Todd Reimschisel (Trophy Sponsor), and Kenny Ellenberger (Announcer). 21 teams from Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan and Ohio contested the event. (Photo by Frank Shanly)

A new champion team was crowned at the Bluffton Horse Pull on Saturday.

Defending champion of the past two years, Oscar Ethington of Pleasureville, Kentucky could only manage eighth place, as his was one of eight teams that found the weight of 10,000 pounds just a little too tough, and the team owned by Jeff Dubois of Maine claimed the crown.

This year’s event attracted 21 teams from Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan and Ohio. Each team was required to haul a specific weight the full length of a 27- and-a-half foot course in order to progress to the next round, with the last team standing declared the winner.

Nine of the 21 teams were still in the running by the sixth round, when 10,000 pounds was loaded onto the sled. In their first visit to Bluffton to compete, Jeff Dubois’ team from Sanford, Maine was the only successful team, although the result was in doubt right up to the very last pull.

The team of Duval and Russellburg from Beaver Dam, Ky. produced a mighty effort to try and force the competition into an extra round with their final attempt, and many in the crowd thought they had succeeded. The three judges, however, ruled the Kentucky team had stopped just four inches short of the full distance, leaving them in second place. The Indiana team of A. J. Thompson of Brazil and Ron Strain of Terre Haute placed third.

Team Dubois received a brand new trophy this year, sponsored by Reimschisel Ford of Bluffton.

The Kenny Hobson team took the award for “Best Matched” while the Roger Share team took the “Best Dressed” award.

Serving as pull judges for the competition were Larry Geradot, Jim Rush and Al Pearson. Jessica Ellenberger served as special awards judge, deciding the “Best Dressed” and “Best Matched” teams.

Kenneth Ellenberger served as the announcer

Article courtesy of

HomeLoginResultsScheduleOur GoalSponsorsContact UsVideosPhotosPuller ProfileLook'n BackLinksThe ScoopMessage Boards